Muslim, queer, feminist: it’s as complicated as it sounds.

27Fév14

days like crazy paving

blog post cover photo me: muslim no matter how I dress.

There are three aspects of my identity that really can’t be untangled from each other:

I am a queer woman.

I am a feminist.

And I believe that there is no god but Allah, and that Muhammad is Allah’s messenger.

Yeah, it’s the third one that usually gets the record-scratch reaction.

I was raised Muslim, but in my teens, I became severely disillusioned with the faith. Having finished reading the Qur’an in English for the first time, I started to fully appreciate just how easy it was for people to twist and re-interpret the book to serve their own needs. I realised my father had been doing that to me for years, with his rules that he swore came « from God » and his restrictions on my behaviour that were all part of me being a good Muslim girl. Cover yourself so men don’t…

View original post 1 559 mots de plus

No Responses Yet to “Muslim, queer, feminist: it’s as complicated as it sounds.”

  1. Laisser un commentaire

Laisser un commentaire

